Graduate Commencement Speakers in the 2010s


Graduate School - Scott S. Cowen
Cowen was president of Tulane University in New Orleans and a member of the UConn Class of 1968.
School of Law - Linda Greenhouse
Greenhouse was the Knight Distinguished Journalist-in-Residence and Joseph Goldstein Lecturer in Law at the Yale Law School.
Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Samuel Shem
Samuel Shem is the pen name of Stephen Bergman, a physician, novelist, playwright, and activist.
School of Pharmacy (PharmD) - Joseph T. DiPiro
DiPiro was executive dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy, University of South Carolina, and the Medical University of South Carolina.


Graduate School - Gov. Dannel P. Malloy
Malloy, Connecticut’s 88th governor, was formerly mayor of Stamford.
School of Law - George Jepson
Jepson, a former state legislator, became Connecticut's Attorney General after the November 2010 elections.
Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Dr. Henry C. Lee
Dr. Lee, endowed professor at the University of New Haven and founder of its forensic science program, is Chief Emeritus of the Connecticut State Police.
School of Pharmacy (PharmD) - Charles D. Hepler, Ph.D.
Dr. Hepler is a distinguished professor emeritus at the Unversity of Florida College of Pharmacy


Graduate School - Robert Gallo
Gallo was the founding director of the Institute of Human Virology at the University of Maryland School of Medicine.
School of Law - John Lewis
Lewis, a U.S. Representative from Georgia (5th Dist. Dem.), is recognized as one of the important leaders of the civil rights movement of the 1960s.
Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Edison Liu
Liu was president and chief executive officer of The Jackson Laboratory
School of Pharmacy (PharmD) - Joseph C. Papa
Papa ’78 (PHAR), was chairman, president, and CEO of Perrigo Co.


Graduate School - Jeffrey Immelt
Immelt was chairman and chief executive officer of General Electric Corp.
School of Law - Neal Kumar Katyal
Katyal was the Paul and Patricia Saunders Professor of Law at Georgetown University and Partner at Hogan Lovells
Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Ferid Murad
Dr. Murad was a teacher, clinician, researcher, 1998 Nobel Prize-winner in Physiology or Medicine.
School of Pharmacy (PharmD) - Kerry Blanchard
Blanchard ’94 Ph.D., was vice president of nonclinical drug safety, U.S., Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals
School of Social Work - Gary Bailey
Bailey was a professor at Simmons College and an internationally recognized leader, scholar, and educator.


Information on the History of Commencement pages was researched and compiled by Mark J. Roy