Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut Commencement & Convocation

Honorary Degree Recipients - 2010s


Narissa Ramdhani, former anti-apartheid activist, UConn Class of 1992 - Doctor of Humane Letters

Wendell G. Minor, illustrator, designer - Doctor of Humane Letters

Scott S. Cowen, president, Tulane University, New Orleans, UConn Class of 1968 - Doctor of Humane Letters


Sir Peter Crane, Carl W. Knobloch, Jr. Dean of the School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Yale - Doctor of Science

Mia Farrow, actress and human rights advocate - Doctor of Humane Letters

Charles M. Vest, Ph.D., president, National Academy of Engineering, president emeritus, MIT - Doctor of Science

Philip Bailey, musician and composer - Doctor of Fine Arts

Charles J. Burstone, DDS., M.S., professor emeritus, UConn School of Dental Medicine - Doctor of Science

Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., founding dean and first president of Morehouse School of Medicine - Doctor of Science


Robert Gallo, founding director, Institute of Human Virology, University of Maryland School of Medicine - Doctor of Science

John Lewis, U.S. Representative, Georgia (5th District, Dem.), civil rights leader - Doctor of Laws

Joseph C. Papa, ’78 (PHAR), chairman, president, and CEO of Perrigo Co. - Doctor of Science

Thomas Pogge, director, Global Justice Program, Leitner Professor of Philosophy & International Affairs, Yale - Doctor of Laws

Joseph Polisi ’69 (CLAS), president, The Juilliard School - Doctor of Fine Arts

Richard Valachovic, ’77 DMD, executive director, American Dental Education Association - Doctor of Science


Jerry Adler, acclaimed television and movie actor - Doctor of Fine Arts

Gary Bailey, professor, Simmons College, internationally recognized leader, scholar, and educator - Doctor of Humane Letters

Lyudmila Harutyunyan, researcher, educator, former member of the Congress of the People’s Deputies, Soviet Union - Doctor of Humane Letters

Jeffrey Immelt, chairman and chief executive officer of General Electric Corp. - Doctor of Humane Letters

Wally Lamb, ’72 (CLAS), ’77 MA, author, former UConn associate professor of Engish - Doctor of Letters

Ferid Murad, teacher, clinician, researcher, 1998 Nobel Prize-winner in Physiology or Medicine - Doctor of Science

Elizabeth Shanahan, executive director and CEO for the Society of Women Engineers - Doctor of Science

Charles Zwick ’50 (CANR), ’51 MS, director of the federal Office of Management and Budget, Lyndon Johnson administration - Doctor of Humane Letters


Richard Besser, Doctor of Science

Liza Donnelly, Doctor of Fine Arts

Peter R. Farina, Doctor of Science

Philip L. Lodewick, Doctor of Humane Letters

Richard Mastracchio, Doctor of Science

Martin McNamara, Doctor of Science

James M. Nederlander, Doctor of Fine Arts

Philip Uri Treisman, Doctor of Humane Letters

George M. Woodwell, Doctor of Science


Timothy Scott Case, Doctor of Science

Helen Hays, Doctor of Science

Kerry Kennedy, Doctor of Humane Letters

Barbara Medoff-Cooper, Doctor of Science

Michael A. Melio, Doctor of Humane Letters

Harriet Sanford, Doctor of Humane Letters

Robert J. Shiller, Doctor of Science

Anne C. R. Tanner, Doctor of Science

Leslie Uggams, Doctor of Fine Arts

Peter J. Werth, Jr., Doctor of Science


Peter Constantine, Doctor of Humane Letters

France A. Cordova, Doctor of Science

Christopher F. Droney, Doctor of Laws

John Kim, Doctor of Science

Charles Osgood, Doctor of Humane Letters

Oliver Stone, Doctor of Fine Arts


David Bouley, Doctor of Humane Letters

Douglas Elliot, Doctor of Humane Letters

J. Michael McQuade, Doctor of Science

Joan Steitz, Doctor of Science

J. Craig Venter, Doctor of Science


Information on the History of Commencement pages was researched and compiled by Mark J. Roy