Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut Commencement & Convocation

Graduate Commencement Speakers in the 1980s


Graduate School - Jaraoslav Pelikan

Pelikan was Sterling Professor of History at Yale University

School of Law - Ellen Bree Burns

Burns was a federal judge with the U.S. District Court for the District of Connecticut.

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Jean Mayer

Mayer was president of Tufts University.


Graduate School - Robert W. Blanchette

Blanchette was director of the Federal Railroad Administration and was named a University Scholar at his graduation from UConn in 1953.

School of Law - Derrick Bell

Bell was dean of the Oregon School of Law.

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Homer D. Babbidge, Jr.

Babbidge, former president of UConn (1962-1972) was president of the Hartford Graduate Center.


Graduate School - Edward J. Bloustein

Bloustein was president of Rutgers University.

School of Law - Grant Gilmore

Gilmore was professor emeritus at Yale Law School.

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Ann R. Somers

Somer was professor of family medicine, at the College of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey


Graduate School - Lattie F. Coor

Coor was president of the University of Vermont.

School of Law - Jack B. Weinstein

Weinstein was chief judge with the U. S. District Court in the Eastern District of New York.

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Arnold S. Relman

Relman was editor of the New England Journal of Medicine and professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School.


Graduate School - Robert W. Rosenzweig

Rosenzweig was president of the Association of American Universities.

School of Law - Jon O. Newman

Newman was a judge with the U.S. Court of Appeals, Second Circuit.

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Howard H. Hiatt

Hiatt was dean of the Harvard School of Public Health


Graduate School - Ernest L. Boyer

Boyer was president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

School of Law - Thomas I. Emerson

Emerson was Lines Professor Emeritus of Law at, Yale University.

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - John J. Paris, S.J.

Paris was professor of social ethics at the College of the Holy Cross


Graduate School - Mary Hatwood Futrell

Futrell was president of the National Education Association.

School of Law - Ellen Ash Peters

Peters was cheif justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court.

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Joseph Califano

Califano was U.S. Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare (1977-1979)


Graduate School - Donald M. Stewart

Stewart was president of The College Board

School of Law - José Cabranes

Cabranes, a former educator, was a U.S. District Court for the District of Connecticut.

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Lowell P. Weicker, Jr.

Weicker was a U.S. Senator (R-Conn.).


Graduate School - Dorothy C. Goodwin

Goodwin was a member of the the Connecticut State Board of Education,a former State Representative (D-54, Mansfield), and former UConn assistant provost and director of Institutional Research.

School of Law - Jacob Zeldes

Zeldes was an attorney at law with Zeldes, Needle and Cooper.

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - Joseph M. Healey, Jr.

Healey was associate professor of community medicine and health care at the UConn School of Medicine.


Graduate School - John Archibald Wheeler

Wheeler was the Joseph Henry Professor of Physics, emeritus, at Princeton University, and the Ashbel Smith and Jane and Roland Blumberg Professor, emeritus, at the University of Texas, Austin.

School of Law - Lowell P. Weicker, Jr.

Weicker was president of Research! America, a former U.S. Senator (R-Conn.) and former Governor (I-Conn.).

Schools of Medicine & Dental Medicine - James F. Childress

Childress was professor of religious studies and professor of medical education at the University of Virginia


Information on the History of Commencement pages was researched and compiled by Mark J. Roy